PUBLIC AI Index: AFR 64/002/2002

Fear for

ERITREAYosef Mohamed Ali (m), chief editor, *Tsigenay*Amanuel Asrat (m), chief editor, *Zemen*Seyoum Tsehaye (m), freelance editor/photographer, former director of Eritrean state television

Temesgen Gebreyesus (m), reporter, Keste Debena
Mattewos Habteab (m), editor, Meqaleh
Dawit Habtemichael (m), assistant chief editor, Meqaleh
Medhanie Haile (m), assistant chief editor, Keste Debena
Dawit Isaac (m), reporter, Setit (Swedish citizen)
Fessahaye Yohannes ("Joshua") (m), reporter, Setit
Said Abdulkadir (m), chief editor, Admas

The 10 journalists named above have been detained incommunicado without charge or trial since 18 September 2001, when the independent newspapers they work for were shut down by the government. On 31 March 2002 they began a hunger strike, demanding a fair trial before an independent court. Three days later they were taken from the police station where they were held, and nine were moved to undisclosed places of detention, where they are at grave risk of ill-treatment.

They were detained because they published articles critical of the government. Amnesty International considers them prisoners of conscience, imprisoned solely because of their legitimate work as journalists.

They had been held at the $1^{\rm st}$ police station in the capital, Asmara. When they began their hunger strike, the authorities allegedly refused them water. They were reportedly taken away from the police station in two groups by security and police officers. Swedish citizen Dawit Isaac, who recently had surgery, was taken to hospital.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

UA 107/02

Independent newspapers have been allowed to operate alongside the state media since 1997, under tight restrictions imposed by the Press Law. In the past two years, several journalists who have written articles critical of the government have been arrested, charged with libel, or conscripted into the army during the recent war with Ethiopia.

Between them these 10 journalists worked for all eight of Eritrea's independent newspapers, which were closed down when they were arrested. At the same time, 11 prominent members of the ruling People's Front for Democracy and Justice (PFDJ) party, including three former Foreign Ministers, were arrested. They had published an open letter to President Issayas Afewerki in May 2001 calling for democratic reform and human rights improvements. Their whereabouts have still not been disclosed, and in February President Issayas Afewerki accused them of treason in the National Assembly.

The eight independent newspapers had published interviews and commentaries on the debate developing from the open letter. Several other journalists have fled the country following these arrests.

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Please send appeals to arrive as quickly as possible, in English or your own language:

- expressing concern for the safety of the ten journalists named above while they are held in secret detention;

- calling on the authorities to say where they are held and allow them access to their families, legal representatives and doctors of their choosing;
- asking for assurances that they will not be ill-treated or force-fed to make them end their hunger strike;
- calling for them to be released immediately and unconditionally, as prisoners of conscience who have not used or advocated violence.

APPEALS TO:

His Excellency Issayas Afewerki President of Eritrea Office of the President P O Box 257, Asmara, Eritrea

Salutation:Dear President

Fax: + 2911 125123

Brigadier-General Mussa Raba Commissioner of Police Ministry of Internal Affairs P O Box 1223, Asmara, Eritrea Salutation:Dear Commissioner

Fax: +2911 122135

COPIES TO:

Mr Naizghi Kiflu Minister of Information and Culture Ministry of Information and Culture P O Box 242, Asmara, Eritrea

Fax: + 291 1 124647

Ms Fawzia Hashim Minister of Justice Ministry of Justice P O Box 241, Asmara, Eritrea

Fax: + 291 1 126422

and to diplomatic representatives of Eritrea accredited to your country.

PLEASE SEND APPEALS IMMEDIATELY. Check with the International Secretariat, or your section office, if sending appeals after 20 May 2002.