• Campaigns

Ethiopia: Further information on prisoners of conscience / legal concern

, Index number: AFR 25/016/1998

Alemayehu Kifle, Mukenil Shebo and Tamrat Gemeda, part of a group of nine journalists arrested for writing critical articles about the goverment, have been released. The remaining journalists, Kifle Mulat, chairperson of the Ethiopian Free Press Journalists Association (EFPJA), journalist on Ethio-Times; Goshu Moges, Taye Belachew, Birru Tsegaye, Anteneh Merid and Lulu Kebede are still being detained without charge although they have now been given access to their families and lawyers.

Choose a language to view report