• Campaigns

Ethiopia: Further information on Fear for safety / Use of excessive force by Security forces

, Index number: AFR 25/015/2001

Members of the Ethiopian Democratic Party (EDP), Lidetu Ayalew, Tamerat Tarakegn, Tadiwos Tantu, Tekile Yeshaw and Mushe Semu, were released on bail on 8 June, but more than 100 other EDP members are still detained incommunicado. Scores of students are reportedly still in custody, who have been detained incommunicado since the riots in Addis Ababa on 17 and 18 April. All are feared to be at risk of torture or ill-treatment.

Choose a language to view report